Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department | Graphical version | 純文字繁體中文版 | 純文字簡體中文版 | Font Size: -A | A | +A

 Adobe(R) Reader (R) can be downloaded for free at Adobe Systems Inc. Website for reading and printing Acrobat Documents.  Get Adobe Reader
16 Service Quality Standards

Service Quality Standards (SQSs) define the level of which, in terms of management and service provision, service units are expected to attain.  The SQSs are developed according to four principles which set out the core values of welfare services.  These four principles are:  

-      to clearly define the purpose and objectives of the service and make its mode of delivery transparent to the public;


-       to manage resources effectively with flexibility, innovation and continuous quality improvement;


-       to identify and respond to specific service users’ needs; and


-       to respect the rights of service users.  


There are 16 SQSs, each of which is elaborated by a set of Criteria and Assessment Indicators.  They are generic descriptions of the basic requirements so as to enable service operators to have appropriate methods tailor-made for a certain service type or a particular service unit in meeting the SQS requirements.

Assessment Matrix Reference Guide for Service Quality Standards
Implementation Handbook (contains guidelines and sample documents for assisting service units to implement SQSs)
Self-assessment Checklist 
Word Document    PDF Document
Service Quality Standards (SQSs) and Criteria
  SQS Benchmarking Study Report (February 2003) 




The Brand Hong Kong | GovHK
Sitemap |  Important Notice | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
©2005 Social Welfare Department, HKSAR