Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative RegionBrand Hong Kong
GovHK TEXT ONLY TRADITIONAL CHINESE SIMPLIFIED CHINESE Medium Size Large Size Extra Large Size SEARCH
Submit Search query SITE MAP CONTACT US

- Annual District Highlights

District Highlights 2019-20
 

1. PROMOTING THE MENTAL WELLNESS OF YOUTH
  • To continue the effort of the “Pilot Project on the Prevention of Youth Suicide in North District” (Pilot Project) held in North District in 2018-19, the Tai Po and North District Social Welfare Office (District Social Welfare Office) joined hands with local partners to run the project of “守護晴[email protected]” in Tai Po and North District in 2019-20 with a view to conveying the messages of life cherishment, care and concern, and positive thinking in the community through a series of programmes, including regular publication of inspirational comic strips on different platforms, distribution of more than 40 000 inspirational comic books and production of other promotional materials. Joining hands with the Home Affairs Department (North District Office), District Social Welfare Office installed 10 signage boards with positive messages along the Wu Tip Shan Trail to give hikers a positivity boost. Besides, 8 Community Play Days were organised jointly with primary schools and collaborative partners for enhancing family cohesion and increasing participants’ awareness of mental health, attracting as many as 2 700 participants. A series of “gatekeeper training courses” were held to train social workers for early identification of youths with emotional distress and offer of support as appropriate. The youths will in turn be trained up as ambassadors to care for their peers and face adversity together. A total of 950 social workers and youths received the training.
 

2. PROMOTING THE “DEMENTIA FRIENDLY COMMUNITY CAMPAIGN”

  • To echo the Dementia Friendly Community Campaign, the District Social Welfare Office has worked closely with local stakeholders in launching various public education programmes to enhance public understanding of dementia. In 2019, in collaboration with 2 District Elderly Community Centres in Tai Po and North District, Tai Po Dementia Care Link, Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital and North District Hospital, the District Social Welfare Office produced a video clip titled “Dementia and You” and a teaching kit to promote public awareness of the needs of persons with dementia and their carers. Over 800 teachers and students watched the video at school. On the “World Alzheimer’s Day”, 21 September 2019, the District Social Welfare Office launched a kick-off ceremony of the “Campaign on Dementia Friendly @ TP/N” in Tai Po. Mrs. Gwen Kao, Chairman of the Charles K. Kao Foundation for Alzheimer's Disease Limited, shared her experience in taking care of a dementia patient with over 100 carers at the ceremony. After the kick-off, public education programmes were held with a promotional van visiting 14 locations (including housing estates, urban and rural areas) in Tai Po and North District where game booths were set up to raise public concern about dementia. Members of the public were encouraged to register as “Dementia Friends” and help build towards a dementia friendly community.
 

3. JOINING FORCES WITH LOCAL PARTNERS TO CARE FOR THE DISADVANTAGED

  • To encourage more local organisations to support the disadvantaged groups, the District Social Welfare Office launched a creative project “Wish Wagon 2019-20” jointly with a NGO. Under this project, each participating deprived family was paired up with a volunteer driver to plan and organise a one-day self-driving local tour. The volunteer driver drove his/her own car to take the paired up family for a happy trip. Through the interaction with the volunteer drivers, participating families got a brand new and treasurable experience. Meanwhile, to put the mission of the Volunteer Movement into practice, the programme encouraged volunteer drivers to bring along their families and friends to join the programme as volunteers. With the support of local partners including the Lions Club of Tai Po and the Rotary Club of Tai Po, a total of 8 self-driving tours were organised with an attendance of 145 participants and 86 volunteers. The scenic spots visited included Lantau Link Viewing Platform, Fei Ngo Shan and so on. All beneficiaries gave positive feedbacks to the programme and were grateful for the care and encouragement from the volunteers.
 
  • The novel coronavirus epidemic has brought exceptional challenges to Hong Kong, especially to the disadvantaged. Since February 2020, the District Social Welfare Office has been actively liaising and co-ordinating with different social service units for distribution of free anti-epidemic supplies donated by enthusiastic organisations and members of the public to needy families and vulnerable groups. The supplies included more than 320 000 adult face masks, 43 000 children face masks and a large amount of hand sanitisers and bleach, etc.
 

4. CONTINUOUS ENHANCEMENT OF COMMUNITY SUPPORT FOR CARERS

  • The District Social Welfare Office collaborated with an NGO in running a “Community Carers Café” (Café) in 4 SWD’s Integrated Family Services Centres in the districts. The Café not only strengthened community support network of carers, but also motivated and trained some of the beneficiaries to become volunteers of the Café. Given the desirable outcome of the Cafe, its services had been extended to some social service units operated by NGOs in the districts. In 2019-20, the number of participating volunteers exceeded 110 while that of carer beneficiaries was over 700. In 2020-21, we planned to expand the services by operating an on-line Café so as to identify more needy carers in an early manner, and provide them with more diversified stress-relieving and emotional support services.
 
  • In joint efforts with the Department of Special Education and Counselling of the Education University of Hong Kong, the District Social Welfare Office organised the “Go Together - Children Speech Development Parent-child Project” to provide 10-session training for 36 families with children having speech problems but not having received any relevant treatment. It aims at providing early training for an optimal outcome. Under this project, 5 different thematic programmes were organised with a medical practitioner, an occupational therapist, a clinical psychologist, a university professor and an experienced social worker as speakers, attracting an attendance of over 140 carers. In order to further enhance community support for carers, a “Mobile Community Carers Café” as well as an introduction of parents’ mutual help groups and community resources were specially arranged in some of these programmes. Having achieved a great success, this project will continue in 2020-21.

跳至主要内容
社会福利署香港品牌形像
GovHK香港政府一站通 ENGLISH 原始大小 较大 最大 搜寻
提交搜寻内容 网页指南 联络我们

- 年度地区剪影

2019-20年度地区剪影
 

1. 关顾青少年精神健康

  • 承接2018-19年度在北区推行的「预防青少年自杀工作计划2018-19」,大埔及北区福利办事处(福利办事处)联同区内合作伙伴于2019-20年度在大埔及北区推行「守护晴Teen@TPN」工作计划,透过多元化的活动在区内传递珍惜生命、关爱及正向思维等讯息,于区内不同平台定期向青少年发放以「北区小哲」及「大埔小树」两个卡通人物为主角的主题漫画,并派发心灵故事小书和打气物品,年内派发了超过40 000多本小书。福利办事处亦与北区民政事务处合作打造「蝴蝶山心灵复原小径」,于蝴蝶山径沿路放置10个以「北区小哲」及「大埔小树」为题的心灵路牌,为行山人士注入正能量。同时,亦伙拍区内小学及合作伙伴举办了8次社区游戏日,藉此强化家庭关系及提升参加者对精神健康的关注,参加人数高达2 700。为及早辨识身边有情绪困扰的同学及作出适切的支援,福利办事处为社工举办「守护晴Teen」培训课程,受训后的社工,会培训青年人成为「守护晴Teen」大使,学习关怀同辈以共同面对逆境。参加是次培训计划的社工及青年人高达950人。
 

2. 推动全城「认知无障碍」大行动

  • 为响应全城『认知无障碍』大行动,福利办事处一直与区内的不同持份者保持紧密联系和合作,共同推行公众教育活动,以增加市民对认知障碍症的关注和认知。办事处于2019年与大埔及北区两间长者地区中心、大埔区认知障碍症照顾联盟、雅丽氏何妙龄那打素医院及北区医院共同制作一套名为「认知障碍症与你」的教育短片及教材套,让更多市民关注及认识认知障碍症患者及其照顾者的需要。该短片已在区内一些学校播放,超过800位的师生曾观看。此外,福利办事处于2019年9月21日的「世界认知障碍症日」在大埔举行《认知友善大埔‧北》社区巡礼开展礼,由高锟慈善基金主席高黄美芸女士与现场超过100名的照顾者分享照顾认知障碍症患者的心得。开展礼后,办事处以流动宣传车及小型摊位游戏形式在大埔及北区14个不同地点(包括屋邨、闹市、乡郊)进行公众教育活动,唤起更多市民关注认知障碍症,并鼓励更多市民登记成为「认知友善好友」,共建认知友善社区。
 

3. 连结地区力量 关爱弱势社羣

  • 为鼓励更多地区团体关爱弱势社羣,福利办事处与区内一间非政府机构合办「愿望快车活动计划2019-20」。此计划为区内弱势家庭配对车主义工,共同筹划一日自驾游行程,由车主义工驾驶自己的私家车接载参加者游玩,义工与参加者在行程中亦有很多交流机会,让参加者得到截然不同的活动体验。计划亦鼓励参与的义工车主带同朋友和家人一起做义工,藉此配合和实践「义工运动」推广的「人人做义工 生活不一样」的理念。计划大埔狮子会及大埔扶轮社等团体支持,进行了8 次活动,共有86名义工参与,受惠人数约145人。去过的景点包括青马观景台、飞鹅山等,受惠家庭都十分满意活动的安排,亦很感谢义工车主们的关心和鼓励。
 
  • 新型冠状病毒病疫情为香港带来前所未有的挑战,对弱势社羣的影响尤其严重。因此,福利办事处由2020年2月起主动联络和协调一些社会服务单位及其他机构,向区内有需要的基层家庭及弱势社羣,免费派发由热心团体和人士捐赠的防疫物资。派发的物资包括超过320 000 个成人口罩、43 000 个儿童口罩,另有大量的酒精搓手液、漂白水及其他物资。
 

4. 持续加强照顾者的社区支援

  • 福利办事处与一间非政府机构合作,于区内4间社署综合家庭服务中心推行「社区照顾者咖啡室」(咖啡室),不单加强了照顾者支援网络,更成功推动和训练了一些受助者成为咖啡室的义工。由于成效理想,咖啡室服务已推展至区内一些由非政府机构营运的社会服务单位。在2019- 20年度,参与的义工已超过110人,而受惠的照顾者亦超过700人。我们计划于2020- 21年度,加推「网上咖啡室」服务,透过网上直播形式及早识别更多有需要的照顾者,为他们提供更多元化的减压及情绪支援服务。
 
  • 福利办事处与香港教育大学(教大)携手合作,举办「同心同行儿童言语发展亲子计划」,由教大特殊发育及辅导学系的导师及学生,为36个有言语障碍但未接受相关治疗的儿童及其照顾者,提供10节的训练,达到尽早训练获得更佳成效的目的。此外,计划亦举办了5个不同的专题活动,分别由医生、职业治疗师、临床心理学家、大学教授及资深社工主讲,出席的照顾者接近140人次。一些讲座中特意安排了「流动照顾者咖啡室」,以及家长互助组织和地区资源介绍,进一步加强照顾者的社区支援。由于计划成效理想,2020-21年度会继续推行。