Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative RegionBrand Hong Kong
GovHK TEXT ONLY TRADITIONAL CHINESE SIMPLIFIED CHINESE Medium Size Large Size Extra Large Size SEARCH
Submit Search query SITE MAP CONTACT US

- Annual District Highlights

District Highlights 2020-21

The Tsuen Wan and Kwai Tsing District Social Welfare Office (District Social Welfare Office) adopted “Instill Hope.Action Overcome.To love and care in Tsuen Kwai Tsing” as the work strategy in 2020-21. By pooling the efforts from different stakeholders in the districts, the spirit of fostering hope and overcoming adversity together, along with community inclusiveness and care was promoted in Tsuen Wan and Kwai Tsing.

INSTILLING HOPE

Since early 2020, Hong Kong has been affected by the COVID-19 epidemic.  People of different classes have been facing various kinds of pressure in life.  Young people and their families might have encountered difficulties and challenges relating to family relationships, studies, finance and employment, etc.  The Local Committee on Services for Young People (LCSYP) and the District Co-ordinating Committee on Family and Child Welfare Services (DCCFCW) of Tsuen Wan and Kwai Tsing jointly implemented the “Project A.I. – Accommodation.Inclusion” to attend to the young people’s needs in relation to their studies, family relationships and personal development while showing concern for their family conditions, and to render continuous support to frontline social workers and related professionals in facing new personal and practical challenges.  Through collaborating with the youth and family service units in the districts, the Project arranged visits to secondary schools and tertiary institutions to gain a comprehensive understanding of the needs of individual students from school social workers and guidance teachers and formulate an outreach strategy to support young people and their families.  Meanwhile, the youth service units delivered continuous support to students of secondary schools, their families and teachers in the community through a series of groups and workshops.  In addition, various seminars and workshops were held to support the physical and mental needs and the professional development of frontline social workers, with a view to enhancing their effective handling in the face of new challenges that young people and their families encounter.  On the other hand, the DCCFCW also launched a project, namely “Add-oil, Family!”.  Through a diversified platform, the project helped individuals and families handle tense family relationships and relieve pressure on parenting, and mobilised community resources to assist individuals and families that face life stresses, including the low-income group, new arrivals and ethnic minorities, etc.  Apart from implementing various programmes, including stress management groups for single parents, family outdoor activities, parenting and parent-child relationship enhancement groups/workshops, etc., the Project also supported grassroots families being affected by the epidemic through the scheme “Friendly Meals”, with about 800 families benefitted from the distribution of meal vouchers.

ACTION OVERCOME

The ongoing epidemic has been putting pressure on the overall social climate, changing daily routines and affecting interpersonal relationships.  All sectors of the society have been experiencing unprecedented situations and challenges, and some even find it hard to adjust.  With the uncertainties brought by the epidemic, community members, including social workers and other helping professionals, may feel the lack of strength inevitably.  Besides, the need for epidemic control has also further distanced us from one another.  In view of this, the District Social Welfare Office, in collaboration with service units providing elderly, family and child welfare, rehabilitation and youth services, etc. and relevant stakeholders in the districts, formed the “Tsuen Kwai Tsing Joint Committee” in 2020 and launched the mega district campaign “Action Overcome”.  By adopting “Early Identification” and “Promotion of Social Resilience” as the 2 different dimensions of intervention strategies to act in concert with the new normal for epidemic control, the campaign responded quickly to the community’s mental health needs.  It actively promoted physical and mental health, attended to emotional needs, established a mutual support network and supported people to move forward with positive thinking in the community and in the sector.  The campaign included the establishment of an “early identification” mechanism and the organisation of online training seminars and workshops on “Handling Emotions at Critical Points” and “Surviving under the Epidemic” for the helping professionals, attracting about 1 000 participants.  In addition, the design of “Tsuen Kwai Tsing Buddies for Fighting the Epidemic” and the video production of a series of positive life stories “Tsuen Kwai Tsing Beautiful Moments” were widely publicised in the community and the videos were successfully broadcast on more than 700 different platforms.  The campaign helped people to understand that there is always a way out in difficult times, promoted the spirit of embracing hope in adversity and exerted the strength of peer support.

LOVE AND CARE IN TSUEN KWAI TSING

The District Social Welfare Office endeavoured to strengthen collaboration among various stakeholders to build a caring and inclusive community and to meet the welfare needs of the community through the concerted efforts of multi-disciplines across services and sectors.  24 service units of the Tsuen Wan and Kwai Tsing District Co-ordinating Committee on Elderly Services and the Co-ordinating Committee on Rehabilitation Services jointly and continuously implemented the “Tsuen Kwai Tsing Walk Together with Carers” Project.  Through a diversified and cross-services approach, the Project gathered community resources and strength and brought about synergistic effect for the early identification of and support to carers of the elderly, PWDs, ex-mentally ill persons and children with special needs in the districts.  In view of the epidemic, a total of over 40 000 mask covers with friendly tips were produced and distributed to shops that carers may visit in their daily life, such as clinics, rehab shops, salons and markets.  Meanwhile, a total of 16 000 folding fans were produced and distributed in the community with a view to disseminating information on social services to hidden carers so as to encourage them to seek assistance when necessary.  Besides, to better meet the needs of different carers and to facilitate the dissemination of information, digital leaflets and QR codes were in use.  The Project also recruited over 1 200 carers who received the services to be “Peer-to-peer Ambassadors” to encourage the needy carers to approach social service units through sharing their personal experience.  Moreover, to enhance the trainees’ sensitivity to the elders, PWDs, ex-mentally ill persons and children with special needs and their carers for the identification of the hidden needy and families, a series of training videos for property management staff was produced.  Considering the possible adjustment difficulties graduates of special schools and their carers may encounter, various promotional activities on services provided by different rehabilitation service units were organised in special schools in the districts.  Meanwhile, a referral mechanism was established to bridge up suitable support services for students and their carers before graduation.  Lastly, to provide diversified stress-relieving and emotional support to the carers, the Project identified suitable spaces to set up “Good-to-relax” rest stations at different service points in the community.  In view of the epidemic, online “Good-to-talk” carer rest stations were specially set up to meet the needs of carers.  As at the end of March 2021, over 200 sessions of “Good-to-relax” and “Good-to-talk” were organised.  The Project successfully built a caring community with mutual help and also provided continuous support to the needy carers.


Archive

跳至主要内容
社会福利署香港品牌形像
GovHK香港政府一站通 ENGLISH 原始大小 较大 最大 搜寻
提交搜寻内容 网页指南 联络我们

- 年度地区剪影

2020-21年度地区剪影

荃湾及葵青区福利办事处(福利办事处)于2020-21年度以「谱希望・齐跨越・融情荃葵青」为工作策略,透过汇聚区内不同持份者的力量,为社区谱写希望,齐心跨越困难,并在荃葵青推动融情互爱的信念。

谱希望

香港于2020年初起受新型冠状病毒病疫情影响,不同阶层人士面对不同程度的生活压力。青少年与家人在家庭关系、学业、经济及就业等各方面或曾遇上不少困难和挑战。荃湾及葵青区青少年服务地方委员会联同家庭及儿童福利服务协调委员会,推行了「Project A.I.——有容・有融」计划,关注青少年面对学业、与家人关系及个人成长的需要,同时关心其家庭的情况,以及持续支援前线社工及相关专业人员面对个人及实务的新挑战。计划透过联同区内青少年及家庭服务单位,到访区内中学及专上院校,与学校社工及辅导人员一起了解个别学校学生的需要及制订入校支援青少年及其家人的服务方向。同时,青少年服务单位亦透过多个小组及工作坊持续支援中学生、家庭及学校老师。此外,为支援前线社工的身心需要及专业发 展,青少年服务单位多次举办不同的讲座及工作坊,以协助前线社工更有效地应付青少年及其家庭的新挑战。另一方面,家庭及儿童福利服务协调委员会亦透过开展「家・加油」计划,以多元化平台处理紧张的家庭关系,纾缓管教子女的压力,运用社区资源以支援那些面对生活压力的人士和家庭,包括低收入、新来港和少数族裔等家庭。计划除了举行多个活动,包括单亲家长减压小组、家庭户外活动、家长管教小组及提升亲子关系小组/工作坊等,亦同时透过「『友善有膳』支援基层服务计划」,向基层家庭派发食物券,以支援区内受疫情影响的基层家庭,约有800个家庭受惠。

齐跨越

持续的疫情令整体社会气氛受压、生活常规改变、人际关系受影响,社会各界均面对前所未有的处境和挑 战,有的甚或感到无所适从。面对疫情的不确定性,社区人士,包括社工及其他助人专业,亦难免感到无力,而防疫的需要亦增加了人与人之间的距离。有见及此,福利办事处加强以跨服务及跨界别模式,联同区内安老、家庭及儿童福利、康复和青少年等服务单位及相关持份者,在2020年成立「荃葵青联席」,推出一系列名为「Action Overcome 齐跨越行动」计划。计划以「及早识别」和「提升抗逆力」两个不同的层面作为介入方向,以切合防疫安排的新模式,回应社区的精神健康需要,在社区及业界推动关顾身心健康,注意情绪需要,建立互相支援网络,以正向思维彼此扶持前行。计划包括建立「及早识别」机制,以及举办多次的「『情绪失调临界点』专业人员线上培训讲座」及「『疫』境求生线上实务工作坊」,合共约1 000名人士参与。此外,计划透过设计「荃葵青抗逆『萌』友」和制作「荃葵青动人时光」系列的正向生命故事,并在社区内广泛宣传,成功透过700多个不同平台播放短片,让人感受到在难关中总有出路,宣扬逆境中抱拥希望,发挥同行力量的精神。

融情荃葵青

福利办事处一直致力联系及推动不同持份者携手建立以情为本、关爱共融的荃葵青区,透过跨界别、跨服务、跨专业的合作回应地区上的福利需要。荃湾及葵青区安老服务协调委员会及康复服务协调委员会的24个单位成员,共同持续推行「荃葵青心伴同行」照顾者支援计划,于地区内集结资源及力量,发挥最大的协同效应,及早识别和支援长者、残疾人士、精神病康复者和有特殊需要儿童的照顾者的需要。计划因应疫情制作4万多个「心伴锦囊」口罩套,并派发至照顾者日常生活接触的商铺,如中西医诊所、康复用品店、发廊和街市等,同时亦制作1万6千把摺扇,藉此广泛宣传,让隐蔽照顾者接触社会服务资讯,并鼓励他们有需要时寻求协助。此外,为迎合不同照顾者的需要,以及加快资讯的流通,计划亦利用电子单张和二维码发放社区支援服务资讯,以及招募了超过1 200名已接受服务的照顾者成为「同行大使」,以自身经验向未曾接受服务的照顾者推广服务。另外,计划特别制作物业管理员培训短片,旨在提升受训者对长者、残疾人士、精神病康复者和有特殊需要儿童及其照顾者的敏锐度,藉此识别隐蔽的有需要人士和家庭。考虑到特殊学校的学童及其照顾者面对毕业离校转变时或会产生的适应困难,计划除了于区内特殊学校进行服务推广外,亦希望透过建立转介机制,让他们能够更适时地衔接社区支援服务。最后,为纾缓照顾者的日常照顾压力,计划推行「好好坐」照顾者休息站,于区内社会福利服务单位为有需要的照顾者提供合适的空间以减压放松。因应疫情,计划灵活增办网上版「好好倾」照顾者加油站,成为支援照顾者的另一个机遇。截至2021年3月底,计划共举办超过200次「好好坐」照顾者休息站和「好好倾」照顾者加油站的活动。此计划在荃葵青成功推动互助关爱的精神,以及持续支援区内有需要的照顾者。