Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative RegionBrand Hong Kong
GovHK TEXT ONLY TRADITIONAL CHINESE SIMPLIFIED CHINESE Medium Size Large Size Extra Large Size SEARCH
Submit Search query SITE MAP CONTACT US
Printer Friendly

- Pilot Scheme on Raising the Maximum Level of Disregarded Earnings for Recipients with Disabilities under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme


Pilot Scheme on Raising the Maximum Level of Disregarded Earnings for Recipients with Disabilities under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme

Background and Objective
Target Beneficiaries
DE
Payment of Subsidy
Download Zone

 

Background and Objective

The Community Care Fund (CCF) has launched a three-year “Pilot Scheme on Raising the Maximum Level of Disregarded Earnings for Recipients with Disabilities under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme” (the Pilot Scheme) since October 2016 to encourage recipients with disabilities under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) Scheme to secure employment. Under the Pilot Scheme, CSSA recipients with disabilities who are currently employed are encouraged to look for employment opportunities with higher salaries, while those who are currently unemployed are encouraged to join the labour market. The Pilot Scheme is administered by the Social Welfare Department (SWD).

   
   
Target Beneficiaries
 
A CSSA recipient must meet the following criteria in order to benefit:
        
  • he/she is receiving CSSA and medically certified to be disabled or in ill-health;
  • he/she is engaged in paid employment and entitled to the disregarded earnings (DE) arrangement under the CSSA Scheme; and
  • he/she is medically certified to be disabled or in ill-health continuously while enjoying the raised DE under the Pilot Scheme.
   
   
DE
   
  • DE refers to the earnings from employment that are disregarded when assessing the amount of assistance payable to a CSSA recipient. Under the CSSA Scheme, all categories of recipients in cases which have been on CSSA for not less than two months are eligible for the DE benefits. The current arrangement is that the first $800 of the monthly earnings from employment of a CSSA recipient is totally disregarded, while up to half of the next $3,400 of his/her earnings (i.e., $1,700) is also disregarded, adding up to a total DE of $2,500 per month at the maximum.
  • Under the Pilot Scheme, the maximum level of DE is raised such that the first $1,200 of the monthly earnings from employment of a CSSA recipient with disabilities will be totally disregarded, while up to half of the next $5,600 of his/her earnings (i.e., $2,800) will also be disregarded, adding up to a total DE of $4,000 per month at the maximum.
  • The difference between the raised DE and the recipient’s earnings already disregarded under the current arrangement of the CSSA Scheme is the amount of “additional DE” payable to a beneficiary under the Pilot Scheme. This “additional DE” will be paid to an eligible CSSA recipient with disabilities through CCF in the form of a subsidy (please refer to the example in Note).
 
Note:

Example of calculation of “additional DE

  • A CSSA recipient who is medically certified to be disabled earns a monthly income of $5,800 and has already been receiving $2,500 (i.e, $800 + $3,400 ÷ 2 = $2,500) of DE under the current arrangement of the CSSA Scheme. Under the Pilot Scheme, the raised DE payable to him will be $3,500 [i.e., $1,200 + ($5,800 - $1,200) ÷ 2 = $3,500]. In other words, the CSSA recipient will receive an additional $1,000 DE per month (i.e., $3,500 - $2,500).
  • Under the Pilot Scheme, the amount of “additional DE” payable will be directly deposited on a quarterly basis (i.e., $1,000 x 3 = $3,000), in the form of a subsidy, into the bank account of the case that the beneficiary uses for receiving CSSA payments.
  • Please note that this is only a simple example to illustrate the calculation of “additional DE” under the Pilot Scheme. The actual amount of “additional DE” payable to a beneficiary under the Pilot Scheme will be subject to his/her actual circumstances under CSSA.

   
   
Payment of Subsidy
   
  • Eligible CSSA recipients with disabilities are not required to submit applications. SWD will assess the amount of “additional DE” payable to the recipients under the Pilot Scheme based on the record of the CSSA recipients’ earnings from employment in the Computerised Social Security System. Having verified relevant details, SWD will directly deposit the payments on a quarterly basis, in the form of a subsidy, into the bank accounts of the cases that the eligible CSSA recipients use for receiving CSSA payments.
  • The subsidy will be paid for the first time in March 2017. Notification letters will be issued to the beneficiaries setting out details of the arrangements of the Pilot Scheme, including arrangements for payment of the subsidy.
  • If a beneficiary receiving the subsidy ceases to be on CSSA, or is no longer medically certified to be disabled or in ill-health, or has stopped engaging in paid employment and is therefore not entitled to DE under the CSSA Scheme, the raised DE under the Pilot Scheme will be discontinued from the following month after the circumstantial changes. Should the same person become eligible again within the implementation period of the Pilot Scheme (that is from October 2016 to September 2019), SWD will resume payment of the subsidy based on the recipients’ earnings from employment as recorded in the Computerised Social Security System.
   
   
Download Zone

Brief on Pilot Scheme on Raising the Maximum Level of Disregarded Earnings for Recipients with Disabilities under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme
(Acrobat PDF Document)
        (Word Word Document)
 
 
Downloading of the PDF Documentacrobat documents for reading and printing can be done through the use of the Adobe(R) acrobat(R) reader software which is available free at the Adobe Systems Inc. Website. Get Adobe reader

跳至主要内容
社会福利署香港品牌形像
GovHK香港政府一站通 ENGLISH 原始大小 较大 最大 搜寻
提交搜寻内容 网页指南 联络我们

- 提高在综合社会保障援助计划下残疾受助人的豁免计算入息上限试验计划

友善列印


提高在综合社会保障援助计划下残疾受助人的豁免计算入息上限试验计划

背景及目的
受惠对象
豁免计算入息
津贴发放
下载区

 

背景及目的

关爱基金(下称「基金」)于2016年10月推出为期三年的「提高在综合社会保障援助计划下残疾受助人的豁免计算入息上限试验计划」(下称「试验计划」),以鼓励残疾综合社会保障援助(下称「综援」)受助人就业,包括鼓励已有工作的残疾综援受助人尝试从事一些较高薪的工作,以及鼓励现时没有从事有薪工作的残疾综援受助人投入劳动市场。试验计划由社会福利署(下称「社署」)负责推行。
 
 
受惠对象
 
受惠综援受助人必须符合下列条件:
  
  • 正在领取综援并获医疗评估为残疾或健康欠佳;
  • 从事有薪工作并在综援计划下享有豁免计算入息的安排;及
  • 在试验计划下享有提高豁免计算入息期间持续获评估为残疾或健康欠佳。
   
   
   
豁免计算入息
   
  • 豁免计算入息是指在评估受助人应得的综援金额时,毋须在援助金额中扣减的工作入息。在现行综援计划下,领取综援不少于两个月的个案,不论受助人的类别,均可享有豁免计算入息的安排。在此安排下,受助人每月从工作所赚取的首800元可全数获得豁免,而其后3,400元的收入则最多有一半(即1,700元)可获豁免,总豁免计算金额每月最高可达2,500元。
  • 在试验计划下,残疾综援受助人的豁免计算入息上限会提高至每月从工作所赚取的首1,200元可全数获得豁免,而其后5,600元的收入则最多有一半(即2,800元)可获豁免,总豁免计算金额每月最高可达4,000元。
  • 提高了的豁免计算入息和现行综援计划下受助人已获豁免计算入息的差额, 即属试验计划受惠人可获得的「额外豁免计算入息」款项,此「额外豁免计算入息」款项会透过基金以津贴形式发放予符合资格的残疾综援受助人(请参考附注的例子)。
 
 
附注: 计算「额外豁免计算入息」的例子
  • 一名获医疗评估为残疾的综援受助人每月赚取薪金5,800元,他在现行综援计划下已获得2,500元的豁免计算入息 (即800元 + 3,400元 ÷ 2 = 2,500元)。在试验计划下,他可获得提高的豁免计算入息金额则为3,500元 [即1,200元 + (5,800元 – 1,200元) ÷ 2 = 3,500元]。换言之,该受助人每月可获额外1,000元豁免计算入息(即3,500元 – 2,500元)。
  • 试验计划会以津贴形式,将受惠人可获得的「额外豁免计算入息」款项,按季(即1,000元x 3 = 3,000元) 直接存入该个案用以领取综援金的银行帐户。
  • 请注意,上述只为一简单例子,以解释试验计划下「额外豁免计算入息」的计算方法。试验计划的受惠人实际可获得的「额外豁免计算入息」会以受惠人在领取综援的实际情况计算。
   
   
津贴发放
   
  • 符合资格的残疾综援受助人毋须提出申请,社署会按社会保障电脑系统内已记录相关受助人及其工作入息的资料,计算受助人在试验计划下可获的「额外豁免计算入息」。社署会在审核有关资料后,以津贴形式将可获的「额外豁免计算入息」款项按季直接存入有关个案用以领取综援金的银行账户。
  • 首次津贴将于2017年3月开始发放。社署会向合资格的受惠人发出通知书,详述试验计划的安排及各项详情,包括发放津贴的安排。
  • 如受惠人在领取津贴后停止领取综援、或不再获医疗评估为残疾或健康欠佳、或没有继续从事有薪工作而不能在综援计划下享有豁免计算入息,受惠人会在这些转变后的下一个月起不能享有试验计划下提高的豁免计算入息。若有关人士于试验计划推行期内(即由2016年10月至2019年9月)再符合试验计划的受惠资格,社署会根据社会保障电脑系统已记录的工作入息资料,再次向该人士发放其可获得的津贴。
   
   
下载区

提高在综合社会保障援助计划下残疾受助人的豁免计算入息上限试验计划简介
(Acrobat PDF 文件)
     (Word Word 文件)
 
 
PDF 文件 Acrobat 文 件 须 以 Adobe(R) acrobat(R) Reader 阅 读 , 阅 读 软 件 可 在 Adobe Systems Incorporated 网 站 下 载 取得 Acrobat Reader