Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative RegionBrand Hong Kong
GovHK TEXT ONLY TRADITIONAL CHINESE SIMPLIFIED CHINESE Medium Size Large Size Extra Large Size SEARCH
Submit Search query SITE MAP CONTACT US
Printer Friendly

- Financial Management

Financial Management
 
“Points to Note on Financial Management for Subvented Non-governmental Organisations”


To facilitate subvented Non-governmental Organisations (NGOs)’ compliance of financial management requirements set out in the Lump Sum Grant (LSG) Manual, the Social Welfare Department (SWD) has prepared a set of “Points to Note on Financial Management for Subvented Non-governmental Organisations”, which summarises the common observations during Accounting Inspection conducted by SWD, for reference by subvented NGOs.

This set of “Points to Note on Financial Management for Subvented Non-governmental Organisations” is intended to provide reference for NGOs.  They should be read in conjunction with the LSG Manual and should not be regarded as a substitute for the relevant contents of the LSG Manual. 

 

 

1. 

Provident Fund (PF) – Proper reporting of actual rate / amount of employer’s PF contributions in Snapshot Staff position to the Social Welfare Department (SWD) 

 
  • Non-governmental organisation (NGO) should report accurately the actual rate/ amount of employer’s PF contributions in the September Snapshot Staff position submitted to SWD. SWD would calculate the PF subvention for Snapshot Staff for next year according to the updated staff position as reported by NGOs in September each year with contribution rates capped at previous recognised level (i.e. 5% for Snapshot staff with contributory service for the first 10 years, 10% for the 11th to 15th years and 15% for the 16th year or over), unless a lower rate is advised by NGOs for PF contribution purpose.
  • If the staff participated in the Occupational Retirement Schemes Ordinance (ORSO) Scheme, the employer’s PF contributions should be calculated based on the basic salary.  If staff participated in the Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) Scheme, the employer’s PF contributions should be calculated based on the relevant income.
 

2.

Provident Fund (PF) – Proper charging of PF contributions for non-Snapshot Staff
 
  • PF for Snapshot Staff and 6.8% posts should be separately stated in respect of the PF subvention received and PF expenditure in the non-governmental organisations’ accounting records.
  • Where a Snapshot Staff member is replaced by a non-Snapshot Staff member, the PF contribution for the non-Snapshot Staff should be charged to the PF subvention for “6.8% and Other posts” and not the PF subvention for “Snapshot Staff”.
  • Provisional PF subvention for both Snapshot and non-Snapshot Staff of next year are calculated and paid according to the position reported in the September return.  When the actual PF subvention is determined, the actual surplus / shortfall for Snapshot Staff PF subvention as well as the additional PF subvention for 6.8% posts arising from departure of Snapshot Staff will be taken into account. 
 

 

3.  Other income – Proper financial reporting on income and expenses from operating other miscellaneous services incidental to the operation of the subvented service (e.g. sale of daily necessities and medical items or photocopying service) 
 
  • Income and expenses from operating other miscellaneous services incidental to the operation of the subvented service should be separately accounted for and reported in the annual audited financial statements and Annual Financial Report.
  • When operating income generating activities, non-governmental organisations should ensure that the activities are in line with the aims and objectives of their organisations, the relevant legal requirements are strictly abided by (such as the terms of the land grant and tenancy agreements, the licensing requirement and copyright issue), subvented activities are not affected and in general there is no detrimental effect on welfare services.

 

4.   Annual Financial Report (AFR) – Other funding allocations from the Social Welfare Department (SWD) (e.g. Block Grant under Lotteries Fund, grants for other projects or programmes) in the AFR 
 
  • An AFR in respect of all its Funding and Service Agreement (FSA) activities (including support services to FSA activities) funded under Lump Sum Grant Subvention System should be prepared by non-governmental organisation.  Grants from SWD not under the Lump Sum Grant Subvention System including Block Grant under Lotteries Fund, etc. should not be included in the AFR.  Likewise, the related expenditure should be excluded from the AFR.  
  
5.   Annual Financial Report (AFR) – Basis of preparation
  • AFRs should be prepared on cash accounting basis for stewardship purposes and in line with the Government accounts. That is, income is recognised upon receipt of cash and expenditure is recognised when expenses are paid. Non-cash items such as depreciation, provisions and accruals should not be included in the AFR.
  
6.   Internal control – Make reference to the advice on internal control procedures set out in Annex 8 to the Lump Sum Grant (LSG) Manual
 
  • Internal control is fundamental to sound and prudent financial management.  Non-governmental organisations (NGOs) should always ensure that adequate internal controls are in place having regard to the nature and size of and the services provided by the organisation.
  • NGO may make reference to the set of internal controls provided in Annex 8 of the LSG Manual, which are examples of good practice.
  • The Social Welfare Department may review if the procedures are appropriate during accounting inspection with reference to Annex 8 of the LSG Manual and give advice thereon.

跳至主要內容
社會福利署香港品牌形像
GovHK香港政府一站通 ENGLISH 原始大小 較大 最大 搜尋
提交搜尋內容 網頁指南 聯絡我們
友善列印

- 財務管理

財務管理

《受津助非政府機構財務管理須知》
 

為協助受津助非政府機構遵守《整筆撥款手冊》有關財務管理的要求,社會福利署總結了署方在進行會計審查時的常見事項,編製而成一套《受津助非政府機構財務管理須知》,以供受津助非政府機構參考。

《受津助非政府機構財務管理須知》僅供參考,應與《整筆撥款手冊》一併閱讀,不應被誤解為可取代《整筆撥款手冊》的有關內容。

 

   
(1) 公積金 - 在向社會福利署(社署)提交的定影員工狀況報告中,妥善報告僱主實際的公積金供款比率/金額
 
  • 非政府機構(機構)在每年九月向社會福利署(社署)提交的定影員工狀況報告中,應準確無誤地報告僱主實際的公積金供款比率/金額。除非機構曾知會社署以一個較低的公積金供款比率供款,社署會根據機構在每年九月報告的最新員工狀況及以先前認可的供款比率水平為上限(即供款服務期首十年的定影員工為5%,第十一至十五年為10%,第十六年或以上則為15%),按員工的服務年期計算定影員工在來年的公積金資助額。
  • 如員工參與職業退休計劃,公積金供款金額應按僱員的基本工資計算。如員工參與強制性公積金計劃,公積金供款金額應按僱員的有關入息計算。
(2) 公積金 - 非定影員工的公積金供款應妥善記入帳目
 
  • 在機構的會計記錄中,須把定影員工及6.8% 資助比率職位的公積金分開列明,同時亦須列明所獲得的公積金資助總額及已支出的公積金款項。
  • 如有定影員工職位被非定影員工替代,非定影員工的公積金供款須由「6.8% 資助比率及其他職位」的公積金資助帳目支付,而不能從「定影員工」的公積金資助帳目支付。   
  • 定影與非定影員工來年的公積金臨時資助額均會根據在九月報告的狀況計算並支付。在確定公積金實際資助額時,有關定影員工過往公積金資助額的實際盈餘/不足,以及因定影員工離職而產生的6.8% 資助比率職位額外資助額,均會考慮在內,以釐定日後的公積金資助額。
(3) 其他收入 - 就營辦津助服務時附帶提供的其他服務(例如出售日用品及醫療品或影印服務)而衍生出來的收入及支出作妥善的財務匯報
 
  • 從營辦津助服務時附帶提供的其他服務而衍生出來的收入及支出應記入獨立帳戶內,並應在機構每年的審計帳目及周年財務報告中匯報。
  • 營辦有衍生收入的活動時,機構應確保該等活動符合機構的宗旨和目標,同時嚴格遵守有關的法例規定(例如批地及租務合約的條款、牌照規定及版權事宜等),更要確保受津助的活動不受影響,同時對整體福利服務不會有任何不良影響。
(4) 周年財務報告 - 周年財務報告內其他來自社會福利署(社署)的撥款(例如獎券基金下的整體補助金、用於其他項目或計劃的補助金)
 
  • 非政府機構須就所有訂有《津貼及服務協議》規定服務及其支援服務(指由整筆撥款津助制度津助的服務)編製周年財務報告。來自社署而不屬於整筆撥款津助制度的補助金(例如獎券基金下的整體補助金等)不應納入周年財務報告。同樣,相關開支不應包括在周年財務報告內。 
(5) 周年財務報告 - 編製基準 
 
  • 為履行管理責任及符合政府帳目的做法,周年財務報告應以現金會計方式擬備。即收入在收到現金時入帳,而支出則在支付費用時入帳。非現金項目如折舊、備付金及應計項目不應記入周年財務報告。
(6) 內部控制 - 參考《整筆撥款手冊》附件8內有關內部控制程序的建議        
 
  • 內部控制是保持穩健和審慎的財政管理的基本原則。機構必須按其性質、大小或所提供的服務,自行確立足夠的內部控制。
  • 機構可參考《整筆撥款手冊》(《手冊》)附件8就重要財務事項的內部控制程序提出的一套良好措施例子。
  • 社會福利署在進行會計審查時,會以《手冊》附件8作參考,審視有關程序是否恰當,並提出建議。