Skip to main content
Social Welfare Department | Graphical version | 純文字繁體中文版 | 純文字簡體中文版 | Font Size: -A | A | +A




 
 
District Highlights 2021-22
 
STRENGTHENING URBAN-RURAL COLLABORATION TO MEET THE NEEDS OF ELDERS LIVING IN RURAL AREAS
Many elders live in the rural areas of Yuen Long.  Their caring needs are uniquely different from those of their counterparts living in urban areas.  In view of this, the Yuen Long District Social Welfare Office (District Social Welfare Office) joined hands with six Rural Committees and NGOs providing community care and support services for the elderly in Yuen Long to design comprehensive and appropriate services for needy elders living in rural areas through regular collaboration meetings.  These services included arranging for temporary storage of service equipment and supplies for elders (e.g. wheelchairs) at village offices, training volunteers in the villages, and co-ordinating eateries in the villages to provide meals and other necessary assistance for service users under special circumstances, etc.  Support Teams for the Elderly (STE) attached to District Elderly Community Centres held groups activities in rural areas regularly to introduce and promote relevant services to elders in the villages.  In addition, STE volunteers visited elders in the villages from time to time during the pandemic, teaching them how to use their smart phones to get the latest news and stay in touch with others, and thus strengthening their support network.  It is hoped that urban-rural collaboration can forge greater synergy to help responding more flexibly, quickly and effectively to the needs of elders living in rural areas and supporting their ageing in place.
 
CULTIVATING A CARER-FRIENDLY COMMUNITY TRHOUGH MULTILATERAL COLLABORATION
The Working Group on Support for Carers in Yuen Long District, set up by the District Social Welfare Office together with 10 welfare service units from different sectors, carried out the “Gorgeous “Yuen” Care Project” to support carers in the community.  12 respite activities called “Breathing Space for Carers” were held under the project to give carers time and space to relax and take a breather from all the stress.  A total of 186 carers participated in the activities.  In addition, 26 social enterprises and retail shops were enlisted to join the “Carer-Friendly Store Scheme” by issuing 1 000 concession cards to carers to provide them with special offers on purchases and services.  With funding support from the Hong Kong Love and Care Charity Foundation Limited, a “Thanksgiving Event” was held to recognise the efforts expended by carers, and commend the Carer-Friendly Stores for the support they gave.  Over 200 people participated in the event, which helped enhance public awareness of the needs of underprivileged groups and their carers.  The project promoted cooperation among the community, residents, the business sector and government departments in giving support to those in need and their carers, with a view to fostering a carer-friendly neighbourhood.
 
LOVING OURSELVES MORE, STANDING FIRM AGAINST DRUGS TOGETHER
  • To address the persisting problems of drug abuse and delinquency among youths in Yuen Long, and support the Ninth Three-year Plan on Drug Treatment and Rehabilitation Services in Hong Kong (2021-2023) promulgated by the Narcotics Division of the Security Bureau, the District Social Welfare Office formed a working group called “Project D - Love Ourselves More” with 11 local social service units in September 2021.  By collaborating with local stakeholders, the working group disseminated anti-drugs message among young people and community members, and helped them take on a healthy and positive outlook on life, thus preventing and reducing young people’s exposure to drugs and enhancing their law-abiding awareness to stop them from partaking in illegal activities or delinquency.
 
  • In 2021-22, the working group organised different types of activities, such as designing publicity materials, producing social media sticker packs and holding graffiti workshops, to enhance the youth’s understanding of the scourge of drugs and the importance of cherishing oneself.  By widely distributing the social media sticker packs and publicity materials designed by the youth, the working group enhanced the youth’s sense of law-abidance and the public’s concern over anti-drugs matters.  In addition, two professional training workshops were held in December 2021 and January 2022 respectively for frontline social workers and related professionals to enhance their skills in handling high-risk youth cases.  The workshops attracted over 110 participants.  The project benefitted over 9 000 youths and community members and received positive feedback.
 
PROTECTING OUR YOUTHS, PAYING CONCERN TO MENTAL WELLNESS
The District Social Welfare Office has been implementing the “Peer Gatekeeper Project” since 2017-18 to raise the youth’s mental health awareness, help them take on a positive outlook on life, and encourage them to be the gatekeepers of their peers.  The project also aims at raising the public’s concern over the mental well-being of children and adolescents.  In 2021-22, two Integrated Community Centres for Mental Wellness in the district joined the project.  Together with 15 youth service units, the Cyber Youth Support Team and the Mobile Van for Publicity Service on Mental Wellness that were already a part of the project, the total number of participating units reached 19.  The content of the project thus became more diversified, and thus better suited to addressing the emotional needs of young people in the district.  19 services and programmes were implemented under the project to facilitate intervention at the individual, school and community levels.  These services and programmes included mindfulness exercises, groups and talks in schools, and service promotion campaigns on the internet and in the community, etc.  Apart from enhancing the mental health awareness among the youth, school personnel and community members, and helping the youth to establish a positive outlook on life, the project also equipped young people with sufficient knowledge and skills to become the “gatekeepers” of their peers and support each other.  Last year, more than 10 000 people benefitted from the project, while the total number of beneficiaries over the years exceeded 40 000.  The project has proven to be a success.
 
SERVING THE COMMUNITY, PROMOTING VOLUNTEERISM
  • In 2021-22, although Hong Kong had yet to emerge from the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic, volunteers in Yuen Long continued to leverage their talents to contribute to the community by participating in different kinds of volunteer work.  To further promote volunteerism in Yuen Long, the District Social Welfare Office launched a project called “Bettering Yuen Long with Volunteering” from November 2021 to February 2022 to encourage everyone in the community to take part in volunteer work, and help spread warmth and care to every corner of the community.  The project attracted the participation of social welfare service units from different sectors and schools in the district.  36 creative volunteer services of diverse nature were carried out under the project, including inviting children with special educational needs (SEN) to perform African drums for persons with intellectual disabilities; doing handicrafts with children with SEN; conducting concern visits; distributing anti-pandemic supplies; and providing after-school care for children.  About 1 300 volunteers participated in the project, which received overwhelming response and benefitted over 1 800 people.
     
  • To encourage people of different ages and skill sets to take part in volunteer work, celebrate volunteers’ contributions to volunteering in Yuen Long, and commend them for actively helping others, the Yuen Long District Co-ordinating Committee on Promotion of Volunteer Services has been organising the annual Yuen Long Outstanding Volunteer Election since 2002.  Last year, a total of 115 nominations from 38 social welfare service units, schools and community stakeholders were received.  The judging panel, composed of 16 scholars from tertiary institutions and representatives from primary and secondary school heads associations of Yuen Long district, conducted adjudication through video conferencing.  The 16 judges offered encouragement and guidance as well as shared their volunteering experiences with the nominees during the process, and by doing so affirmed their contributions to Yuen Long District.  The Committee produced a short video to look back on the Yuen long District Outstanding Volunteer Election 2021 especially for the award-winning volunteers.  The video was uploaded to the Internet for the viewing pleasure of volunteers and the public, as well as promoting the spirit of helping and loving one another through volunteering.
 
PROTECTING CHILDREN AND FOSTERING FAMILY HARMONY
To strengthen the capacity of professionals from different disciplines to deal with domestic violence, the District Social Welfare Office regularly organised professional training courses on family and child protection, covering topics such as early identification of cases, crisis assessment, violence prevention, post-trauma counselling and multidisciplinary and cross-sector collaboration.  In 2021-22, the District Social Welfare Office organised two seminars, namely “Supporting Families in High Conflicts: Combating Epidemic and Ridding Adversity” and “Protecting Children from Being Abused: How to Early Identify and Support Children and Youth Suffering from Cyber Sexual Abuse”.  Over 200 participants, including members of the social welfare and education sectors, as well as police officers and other local stakeholders, attended the training and were positive about the experience.  In addition, the Integrated Family Service Centres and Family and Child Protective Services Unit under the District Social Welfare Office organised a total of 226 groups and programmes in 2021-22 to promote child protection and harmonious families, attracting some 3 000 participants.
 

 

 


The Brand Hong Kong | GovHK
Sitemap |  Important Notice | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
 
©2005 Social Welfare Department, HKSAR

跳至主要內容
社會福利署 | English Text Version | 字型大小: -A | A | +A




 
 
2021-22年度地區剪影

 
加強城鄉合作 關顧鄉郊長者需要
元朗區有不少長者居於鄉郊。相比居於市區的長者,鄉村長者的照顧需要有一定的獨特性。有見及此,元朗區福利辦事處(福利辦事處)元朗區六個鄉事委員會和提供長者社區照顧及支援服務的非政府機構定期召開協作會議,一同為居於鄉郊有需要長者訂全面而適切的服務,包括借用鄉公所存放服務器材物資(例如輪椅)、為義工提供適切的訓練,及協調村內食肆在特別情況下為服務使用者提供膳食或其他所需支援等。附設於長者地區中心的長者支援服務隊亦會定期到村內進行小組活動,向長者介紹及宣傳服務。疫情期間,長者支援服務隊義工不時探訪鄉村長者,教他們使用手機接收最新新聞資訊及與外界聯繫,強化他們的支援網絡。福利辦事處期望透過城鄉合作,發揮更大的協同效益,從而更靈活、迅速及有效地回應居於鄉村長者的需要,協助他們居家安老。
 


推動社民商官協作 建立照顧者友善社區
福利辦事處與區內十個不同界別的福利服務單位成立「元朗區支援照顧者工作小組」,推行「『美.Care 計劃區內照顧者提供支援。計劃舉辦12次名為「喘息時分秒」的活動,讓照顧者有時間和空間舒懷減壓活動共186位照顧者參與。計劃集合區內26間社企商店組成「愛.關顧商戶」,向照顧者派發1 000張優惠,為他們提供購物及服務優惠。此外,計劃香港愛心慈善基金會有限公司贊助舉辦「感謝祭」以表揚照顧者的貢獻及嘉許「愛.關顧商戶」的支持。活動超過200參加,讓社區人士加深了解弱勢社群及其照顧者的需要。計劃推動社民商官協作,支援有需要人士及其照顧者,攜手建立一個照顧者友善社區。
 


珍愛自己 攜手遠離毒害
  • 為應付元朗區長期存在的青少年毒品及違法行為問題,以及回應保安局禁毒處公布的香港戒毒治療和康復服務第九個三年計劃(20212023),福利辦事處於20219月聯同區內11個社會服務單位組成「好DD.愛自己多D」工作小組,藉着區內持份者協作,向青少年及社區人士宣傳禁毒的訊息,協助他們建立健康、正向的人生觀,從而預防及減少區內青少年接觸毒品的機會,並提升他們的守法意識,杜絕違法或不良行為。
 
  • 2021-22年度,工作小組舉辦了不同形式的活動,如設計宣傳品、製作社交媒體貼圖包及舉辦塗鴉工作坊等,加強區內青少年對毒品禍害的認識,並讓他們學習珍愛自己。工作小組藉着廣泛發及派發由青少年設計的社交媒體貼圖包和宣傳品,提升青少年的守法意識,並加強社區人士對禁毒議題的關注。此外,工作小組分別於202112月及20221前線社工及相關專業人士舉辦了兩場專業培訓工作坊,以提升他們處理高危青少年個案的技巧,出席人數超過110人。整個計劃共有超過9 000青少年及社區人士受惠並獲參加者正面評價
 

守護青年 彼此擁抱心靈
福利辦事處自2017-18年度舉辦「守護大使」計劃,旨推動青少年關注精神健康,並協助他們建立正向人生觀,成為朋輩的守護者,同時加強地區人士對兒童及青少年精神健康的關注。2021-22年度,區內兩間精神健康綜合社區中心加入計劃,連同原來15個青少年服務單位、網上青年支援隊,以及推廣精神健康流動宣傳車服務,計劃的參與單位數目19個,計劃活動內容得以更多元化,適切地回應區內青少年的情緒需要。計劃共推出19項服務及活動,從個人、學校社區個層面作出介入。這些服務及活動包括個人正念體驗活動、入校小組及講座、網上宣傳及社區推廣活動等。除了加強青少年、學校以社區人士對精神健康的關注,以及協助青少年建立積極正面的人生觀計劃亦為為青少年裝備充足的知識和技巧,讓他們成為朋輩的「守護者」,互相扶持。計劃去年惠及超過10 000人,歷年來總受惠人次超過40 000,成效顯著。
 
 

 
元「義」滿溢 揚義工精神
  • 2021-22年度,即使本港仍深受2019冠狀病毒病疫情困擾,元朗區的義工繼續參與不同類型的義務工作,致力發揮所長,貢獻社區。為進一步在區內宣揚義工精神,福利辦事處於202111月至20222月期間推行「『元』美主『義』」計劃,鼓勵區每一個人投身義務工作,溫暖及關懷傳遍社區每個角落。計劃區內不同界別的社會福利服務單位及學校團體響應,共推行了36項義工服務,內容既多元又具創意,例如邀請有特殊學習需要的兒童為智障人士表演非洲鼓安排義工與有特殊學習需要的兒童製作手工藝進行關懷探訪、派發防疫物資,以及提供學童託管服務等。參與計劃的義工人接近1 300,受惠人更超過1 800,反應踴躍。
 
  • 為鼓勵不同年齡和具備不同技能的人士參與義務工作,同時表揚義工對元朗區義務工作的貢獻,及嘉許他們的助人精神,元朗區推廣義工服務協調委員會(委員會)2002年起每年舉辦「元朗區傑出義工選舉」活動。去年的選舉活動共接獲115來自38社福單位、學校及區內持份者提名,並由16位來自本港各大專院校的學者及元朗區中小學校長會的代表組成評審團,網上視訊會議方式進行評審。過程中評審團成員不但鼓勵及指導提名的義工,分享自己參與義務工作的經驗,從而肯定義工對元朗區的貢獻。委員會特別為各獲獎義工製作了一段回顧「元朗區傑出義工選舉2021短片,並把短片上載網上平台供義工及觀賞藉此宣揚義工互助互愛的精神。
 

保護兒童 締造和諧家庭
強不同界別的專業人士處理家庭暴力的能力,福利辦事處定期舉辦有關保護家庭及兒童專業訓練課程,內容包括及早識別個案、危機評估、預防暴力、創傷後輔導,以及跨專業及界別協作等。在2021-22年度,福利辦事處舉辦了兩研討會,主題分別「支援高衝突家庭關係:積極抗『疫』,走出『逆』境」及「保護兒童免受虐待研討會—如何及早識別及支援網絡性侵兒童及青少年的個案」。研討會反應理想,200參加者來自不同界別,當中包括社福界教育界人士,亦有警務人員及其他地區持份者。此外,福利辦事處轄下綜合家庭服務中心和保護家庭及兒童服務課亦在2021-22年度舉辦了226個推廣保護兒童及和諧家庭訊息小組及活動,參與人3 000人。

 

 


香港品牌形象 | 
網頁地圖 | 重要告示 | 私隱政策 | 聯絡我們

©2005 社會福利署